Close message

Welcome to Kanopy

Brought to you by New Orleans Public Library

Not your library? Find it now

Literature

Most Popular

American Authors

European Authors

Female Authors

Literary Documentary

Shakespeare

Heroes and Legends: The Most Influential Characters of Literature

Classical and Medieval Literature

Loading more films...

617 Videos in Literature

Loading...

Regarding Susan Sontag - Portrait of a Feminist Icon
An intimate and nuanced investigation into the life of one of the most influential and provocative thinkers of the 20th century. Endlessly curious, passionate and gracefully outspoken throughout her career, Susan Sontag became one of the most important literary, political…
Lorraine Hansberry: Sighted Eyes/Feeling Heart - The Life and Work of a Treasured American Playwright
This documentary sheds valuable light on all aspects of Lorraine Hansberry's play, A Raisin in the Sun , including the daunting challenge of securing investment and a venue for this production about a working class Black family, the casting process,…
The Rise and Fall of the Brown Buffalo - Oscar Zeta Acosta: From Latino Activist to Dr. Gonzo
This genre-defying film introduces the radical Chicano lawyer, author and counter-cultural icon, Oscar Zeta Acosta. Acosta was the basis for Dr. Gonzo in "Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas," written by his friend, the Hunter S. Thompson. Channeling the psychedelic…
Rachel Carson - The Woman Who Launched the Modern Environmental Movement
PBS
When Rachel Carson's Silent Spring was published in 1962, the book became a phenomenon. A passionate and eloquent warning about the long-term dangers of pesticides, the book unleashed an extraordinary national debate and was greeted by vigorous attacks from the…
Tokyo Fiancée
Based on Amelie Nothomb's bestselling novel, Tokyo Fiancee is an entertaining romantic comedy that will appeal to fans of Jean-Pierre Jeunet's Amelie and Sofia Coppola's Lost in Translation. The young, pixie-like Amelie is in love with all things Japanese, which…
Zora Neale Hurston: Jump at the Sun
Zora Neale Hurston, path-breaking novelist, pioneering anthropologist and one of the first black women to enter the American literary canon ( Their Eyes Were Watching God ), established the African American vernacular as one of the most vital, inventive voices…
All Quiet On the Western Front
Richard Thomas ( The Waltons ) stars in a powerful and dramatic adaptation of Erich Maria Remarque's acclaimed novel, All Quiet On the Western Front . At the rise of World War I, German patriot Paul Baumer (Thomas) and his…
Hamlet
This production is part of a famous series produced by BBC of all of William Shakespeare's plays. The resulting films, renowned for their loyalty to the text, utilized the best theatrical and television directors and brought highly praised performances from…
Death of a Salesman
During the post-war boom period of the late '40s, Willy Loman is an aging, traveling salesman, who despairs that his life his been lived in vain. Facing dispensability and insignificance in a heated, youthful economy, Willy is not ready to…
Sex In The Comix - The History of Erotic Content in Sequential Art.
A revealing journey into the heart of erotic comic strips, SEX IN THE COMIX examines the colorful history of a unique and risque art form. With New York comic artist and burlesque performer Molly Crabapple as our guide, this documentary…
As You Like It
This production is part of a famous series produced by BBC of all of William Shakespeare's plays. The resulting films, renowned for their loyalty to the text, utilized the best theatrical and television directors and brought highly praised performances from…
Julius Caesar
A fast-moving thriller about a struggle for democracy, William Shakespeare's Julius Caesar is also a love story between two men united by an explosive act of political violence. Based on the Royal Shakespeare Company's acclaimed stage production, Gregory Doran's film…
Dear Mr. Watterson - The Era of Calvin & Hobbes
Calvin & Hobbes dominated the Sunday comics in thousands of newspapers for over 10 years, having a profound effect on millions of readers across the globe. When the strip's creator, Bill Watterson, retired the strip on New Year's Eve in…
Dear Mr. Shakespeare - Blackness, Race, and Immigration in Othello
A reinterpretation and exploration of William Shakespeare's intentions when writing Othello . The film examines the play's racial themes in a historical and contemporary setting, while drawing wider parallels between immigration and blackness in the UK today. Nominated for the…
Ayn Rand: A Sense of Life
This Academy Award nominated documentary is the first authorized film look at the life and work of the controversial Russian-born author Ayn Rand. The writer of such renowned novels as The Fountainhead and Atlas Shrugged is the subject of Michael…
Othello
This production is part of a famous series produced by BBC of all of William Shakespeare's plays. The resulting films, renowned for their loyalty to the text, utilized the best theatrical and television directors and brought highly praised performances from…
Wuthering Heights
Andrea Arnold's WUTHERING HEIGHTS is an excitingly fresh and distinct take on the classic novel by Emily Bronte. An epic love story that spans childhood well into the young adult years, the film follows Heathcliff, a boy taken in by…
Taming of the Shrew
This production is part of a famous series produced by BBC of all of William Shakespeare's plays. The resulting films, renowned for their loyalty to the text, utilized the best theatrical and television directors and brought highly praised performances from…
Twelfth Night
This production is part of a famous series produced by BBC of all of William Shakespeare's plays. The resulting films, renowned for their loyalty to the text, utilized the best theatrical and television directors and brought highly praised performances from…
Comic Book Confidential
Comic Book Confidential is a feature-length documentary that profiles twenty-two of the most significant artists and writers working in comic books, graphic novels and strip-art in North America today. In an entertaining and informative combination of interviews, historical footage and…